Soup’s On!

October …. and it is definitely cooling off here in Northern California.  For most of October the mornings had a chill but by noon the sun was very warm and it still felt like summer.   Cooler days have arrived and with it come soup and stew recipes to help take the chill off!

I made Pasta e Fagioli on Saturday, a copycat recipe for the soup served at the Olive Garden.  It is really very good and got thumbs up from two important men in my life … my husband and my dad!  It can’t get much better than that.  The ingredients are things you would normally have on hand … onions, carrots, celery, garlic, as well as pantry items such as cannelloni beans, kidney beans, tomato sauce, diced tomato, beef broth, and macaroni.   If you have hamburger in the freezer you are ready to go!   The herbs used are standard pantry items as well:  basil, oregano, thyme, and red pepper flakes.   The soup didn’t take long to make either.

Here is the link for this very tasty and easy soup.  http://stickafork.net/2012/11/pasta-e-fajoili-soup/

I recommend the soup and think the herb blend is just right!  My dad said it was GREAT!  That is good enough for me.

Enjoy!

Leave a comment